WTF are phrasal verbs?

I’m not a huge fan of using the somewhat vulgar and attention seeking using of ‘WTF’ but this is good video with clear and concise explanations of practical commonly spoken phrasal verbs used by English speakers such as myself. Enjoy.

…and as ever the British Council website also makes for some impressive reading.

Some verbs are two part verbs (see Clauses, Sentences and Phrases). They consist of a verb and a particle:

  • grow + up
    >> The children are growing up.

Often this gives the verb a new meaning:

  • take + after
    >> She takes after her mother
    = She looks like her mother, or She behaves like her mother.
  • count + on
    >> I know I can count on you
    = I know I can trust you, or I know I can believe you.

Some transitive two part verbs (see Clauses, Sentences and Phrases) have only one pattern:

N (subject) + V + p + N (object)

[Note: N = noun; V = verb; p = particle]

N (Subject)  Verb Particle  N (Object)
She
I
My father
takes
can count
comes
after
on
from
her mother
you
Madrid
One thought on “WTF are phrasal verbs?

Leave a Reply

